Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Data & Statistics: Useful Resources

Library Resources

Library Databases

Many databases will provide statistical data in support of the information they provide. Library databases such as CQ Researcher, Country Watch, Opposing Viewpoints, and Jstor will be most useful for locating data on a controversial topic or country. However, Ebsco Academic Premier and Proquest  will also provide statistics within articles in scholarly journals.

Add the keyword terms "Data" or "Statistics" along with your topic keywords to assure that you retrieve the data you need.

Library Catalog

Use the Ventura College Library Catalog as art of your search to find books on your tope that may cite relevant data providers or for books of statistical tables to identify sources of data.

Add the keyword terms “data” or “statistics” to your search.  Also, you may want to expand your search to include the other libraries within our district.

When searching for books in the library look for the term “statistics” in the subject details for example:  Education—Statistics.

Most Useful Internet Resources

American Factfinder

This website provides access to data about the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.  Data includes statistics on population, housing,    poverty, income, age, race, sex and education, business and economics. http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml?_ts=448474436074

Bureau of Labor Statistics

This website provides data regarding the labor market, working conditions, and inflation in the economy.  This website will also provide access to the Occupational Handbook and information on careers. http://www.bls.gov/cpi/  or http://www.bls.gov/ooh/

U. S. Census Bureau: Subjects A to Z

This webpage provides an index consisting of keywords and phrases to access census statistics, free publications, products, services, and other social, demographic and economic information.  http://www.census.gov/main/www/a2z/

FedStats

This website access to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies that provide data and trend information on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more. http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/

World Factbook (CIA)

This website information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, and a standard time zones of the world map.  https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

 

Other Internet Resources

Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts

This website will provide historical census data from 1790 population counts to the present.  Some information may not be available for all years. http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html

International Data Base (IDB)

This website provides access to data for countries around the world.  Data includes demographic,       economic, social and geographic information. http://www.census.gov/population/international/

Medline Plus

This website provides health data such as the percentage of overweight children, the rate of people catching the flu, the average cost of a procedure and much more.  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthstatistics.html

National Center for Health Statistics

This website provides access to health data such as for life expectancy, death rates or birth rates, etc.  You may also wish to utilize the Mortality Data from the National Vital Statistics System as well. http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/ OR http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/about/major/dvs/mortdata.htm

Statistical Abstract of the United States

This website provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Data presented ranges from 2012 edition to the historical abstracts compiled since 1878. Note: U.S. Census Bureau ceased compilation of the Statistical Abstract with the 2012 edition http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical_abstract.html

U. S. Census Bureau Publications

This website provides key information about the     censuses, surveys, and other programs that are the sources of data products, including historical censuses http://census.gov/library/publications.html