Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

MICR V01 - DeJesus: Articles

Searching for Articles

Useful Resources

The best starting points for students to locate the articles needed for Microbiology V01 are:

  • MEDLINE with Full Text - full-text access to over 1,450 scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, and other health care-related fields. This database includes content of interest to students in nursing, pre-med, biology, chemistry, education, and more. This is an online resource. (Note:  Go to Academic Search Premier, then click on choose database and select MEDLINE if the link does not work.)
  • ProQuest Biology Journals - provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text. With thousands of articles available online, ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.  This is a Ventura College Library Database.
  • Green FILE - includes all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE's collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Note: limited full text content (about 12,000 records).  This is an online resource.

Other Useful Ventura College Library Databases:

  • Academic Search Premier - - from EBSCO. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; tip: to broaden coverage of environmental issues, go to "Choose Databases" and add GreenFILE to your search.
  • Health Source:  Nursing/Academic Edition - provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
  • Ovid Nursing Journals - Over 1,400 premium, peer–reviewed journals. Plus, dozens of journal collections, including archive collections and packages based on publisher or subject content.
  • ProQuest Health and Medical Complete - provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.

Using Library Databases

Helpful Researching Hints

Keyword vs. Advanced Search:

  • Simple Search:  Use your bacterium as a “keyword” in the search box.
  • Advanced Search:  Enter the article "title," "author" and "publication," each in a separate box if you are searching for a specific article.  Each box will have a drop down menu noting what each entry identifies.  Or enter the bacterium and enter limits such as publication name each in a separate box.

Limit Options:

Most databases will allow you to narrow your search by date of publication, language, or publication types.  General databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly sources.  Some databases allow you to apply limits before the search on the advanced screen however, most databases will also allow you to place limits after your search.  Note:  you may place more than one limit when conducting a search.

Two recommended limits for this assignment would be:

  • Limit your search to full-text since you need the full article.
  • Limit your search to peer-reviewed articles to assure that you receive scholarly articles.

Please note that if you need an article from a newspaper or a popular magazine, you will need to adjust your limits to allow these types of article to show in your search. Ask a librarian for assistance if you need help with placing these limits on your search.

Off-campus Access

There are a couple of ways to access the library databases:

Go to the Library Home Page and click on "Databases A-Z and click on your desired option.  You will then be prompted to login with your MyVCCCD credentials. 

Or, you can login to your MyVCCCD account before you start searching. Once you login, go to the Library Information Tab and click on either the Library Homepage or Library Resources button and you will find the links to the various library databases.