Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

ENGL V01B: Literary Criticism Resources: Books and eBooks

 

Decorative Image Books and eBooks

The Library Catalog

On the Ventura College Library Website, under Find Books, click the VC Library Catalog link

Image of Ventura College Library Website Search Menu

You can start with the Basic search by entering your terms in the blue search box.

Image Ventura College Library Catalog Search Feature

You can also refine your search by clicking on the dark blue "Advanced", "Subject", or "Author" tabs.


For example:

To find books written by an author, use the "Author" search tab in the Library catalog:

Image Ventura College Library Catalog Search by Author

Note: If you plan to look up a person, be sure to enter their name in the search box in last name, first name format


 

eBooks

Most databases include chapters or articles from reference books.  Some databases include entire books. 

Articles from print reference books such as Literary Themes for Students and Contemporary Authors are made available online through our databases Gale Virtual Reference Library.

EBSCO's eBook Collection has entire books available online.

MagillOnLiterature Plus contains chapters from EBSCO literary criticism reference books such as Masterplots.

Finding print resources

The library catalog is one way to find print materials on your subject, but it's not the only way!

The electronic database Gale Literary Index is a way to look up information that appears in our print Gale literary criticism reference collection.  You can use this resource to obtain titles that you can then search for in our book catalog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Literary Index Example Search

Whether you are looking for an author or a certain title, the results in Gale's Literary Index will list the reference book title, followed by the volume number, in bold, and then the page numbers.  For example, if we do a Title Search for Animal Farm by Orson Welles, we get the following results:

Gale series that include a discussion of this work:

Beacham's Encyclopedia of Popular Fiction: Analyses, volume(s) 1:154-57
Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults, volume(s) 5: 2124-30
Children's Literature Review, volume(s)68:115-85; 171:95, 114
Literature and Its Times, volume(s) 4:14-20
Novels for Students, volume(s) 3:1-13
Reference Guide to English Literature (St. James Press, an imprint of Gale), edition(s) 2:1462-63
Short Story Criticism, volume(s) 68:1-62
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, volume(s)2:497-98, 500-01, 504-07, 510-12, 514; 6:344-45, 348, 351, 353; 15:299-300, 302, 308, 319, 321-23, 325-26, 329-30, 333-35, 343, 353-54, 364; 31:176-80; 51:221, 227, 237, 242- 43, 246, 264-65; 128:258-62, 264-67, 270-72, 278-79, 286, 290, 293, 296, 298, 307, 310-11; 129:223, 225, 228, 235, 244, 246-47, 251, 255, 259, 261, 264; 276:65, 76, 89, 112, 115-16, 118, 121-23, 136-37
World Literature Criticism, edition(s) 4:2575-78, 2581-83, 2585

You can then search these titles in the book catalog to see if they are part of the Ventura College Library collection.