Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

ENGL V01A: Articles

Finding Articles

http://www.clipartbest.com/cliparts/dTr/nL5/dTrnL5bT9.jpegThe databases - sometimes called eResources, electronic resources, online databases, article databases, or library databases - are online collections of magazine, journal and newspaper articles that you can search by subject.  Many databases also index parts of books or entire books, videos, trade journals, reports and radio and television transcripts.

Databases

Databases that deal with current "hot" topics and controversial issues include:

  • CQ Researcher: This award-winning database is the online equivalent of the weekly publication of the same name. It is an excellent place to look for impartial and extensive reporting on controversial and complex issues. This database is a great resource to use especially for speech and debate classes. CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Oct. 1991 to the present.
  • Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context: This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.

Databases that cover almost all topics including education, medicine, sociology, psychology, religion, business and technology include:

  • EBSCO: A powerful, interdisciplinary database with entire eBooks and full-text articles from many collections including the Military & Government Collection, MagillOnLiterature Plus, and GreenFile.
  • Proquest: A multidisciplinary database that includes the PsycArticles collection, Hoover's Company Records, ABI Inform Global, and Accounting & Tax databases.