Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Nursing: Internet Sources

Nursing Websites

MedlinePlus:  From the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, MedlinePlus contains information about diseases, treatments, drugs and supplements, and has videos and tutorials.

PubMed:  Created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed provides access to citations from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and e-books, with some access to full-text.

PubMed Central:  A free, full-text database of biomedical and life sciences journals.

Lippincott's Nursing Center:  Designed for nurses "to gain knowledge, develop professionally, and advance their careers." Includes articles from nursing journals, job listings, and more.

National League of Nursing:  The National League for Nursing is the preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education.

American Nurses Association:  The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations and its organizational affiliates. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.

National Institute of Nursing Research:  This government institute "supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the lifespan." The site presents research information and publications on topics such as end-of-life care, pediatrics, women's health, and older adults.

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN):  "The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN), a unique asset for the nation, serves the public interest by setting standards, providing resources, and developing the leadership capacity of member schools to advance nursing education, research, and practice."

General Health Websites

MedlinePlus: Health Information from the National Library of Medicine
This is the National Institute of Health's Websie for information about health topics, diseases, drugs, supplements, latest medical research and treatments, wellness issues, clinical trials and more.
U.S. National Library of Medicine. National Institutes of Health
General health database designed for medical professionals and the public. Many full text articles.
Health.gov
Your portal to health information, this site is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
healthfinder.gov
Your source for reliable health information from the Federal government.  This website is managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Evidence-based Medicine

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
Interactive introductory tutorial developed by Duke University and the University of Carolina at Chapel Hill

Resources for Creating Citations and References

There are many free, reliable, online sources to help you organize your research and create bibliographies, work cited pages and reference pages.

       The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University  is a great online guide.

Free online citation software such as Zotero or Mendeley may be helpful as well.

Google Scholar

Set up Google Scholar so that you can access your resource (free!) from the Ventura College Library.

1) Open the Options menu in Google Scholar and select "Settings":

2) Click on "Library links":

 

3) Look up and select Ventura College Library.  Be sure to save your selection.

         
You will now see "Full text @ VC Library" if our databases index the article:

 

Credits

This page courtesy of Faten Habib at Moorpark College Library