Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Research in the Library: Checking Out Books from the Library

Checking Out Books From the Library

You don't need a library card to check out books from the Library. All you need is your 900 number. Don't remember your 900 number? This number can be located on your course schedule.

If you have never checked out a book with us before, bring along a photo ID, and we will enter you into the library's software program.

If you are checking out a book from the Lending Library, you will need to bring with you a copy of your schedule and a photo ID.

Textbooks

Reserve or Library-Use Only Textbooks

The Reserve Textbook Library is a collection of current  textbooks used in many of the Ventura College courses. This collection is made available for student use in the library only. The collection is located at the Library Circulation Desk.  Books in this collection are marked "Reserves/Library Only" in the location section of the catalog record.  Students may check out these textbooks for a two hour, in-library use period. Students may request that the library purchase a book not included in the collection by speaking to a librarian.

Overdue late fines are $.25 per hour up to $5.00 per day.  Students removing a textbook from the library may have the purchase price of the textbook plus a processing fee attached to their college records.

 

 

Textbook Lending Library Books

Ventura College students may check out textbooks from this collection for the entire semester on a first-come, first-served basis.  Students may also check the library online catalog to see if the library has their text in the collection.  Books in this collection have the notation "Lending Library" as the shelf location.

Rules and Guidelines

  • MUST BE A VENTURA COLLEGE STUDENT -  students will only be allowed to get textbooks for classes registered at Ventura College. No waitlisted courses accepted.
  • Have any PHOTO IDENTIFICATION, have a "print-out" of his/her CLASS SCHEDULE, and have a printed TEXTBOOK LIST from the VC Bookstore website.
  • VC ENROLLED COURSES ONLY--ONE COPY PER TEXTBOOK, no duplicates--THREE TEXTBOOK LIMIT.  Students will NOT be allowed to check out textbooks for courses enrolled at other colleges.
  • NO HOLDS.  The library will not place books on hold for students.
  • STUDENTS MUST BE CLEAR OF OVERDUE BOOKS AND LIBRARY FINES AND HAVE NO LIBRARY OBLIGATIONS ATTACHED TO THEIR RECORDS.  Students are encouraged to clear up their records of library fines or overdue books before lending library day.
  • STUDENTS MAY NOT SAVE PLACES IN LINE FOR FAMILY OR FRIENDS.  Students are asked to be respectful of others waiting in line.
  • ONLY STUDENTS WILL BE ALLOWED IN THE LIBRARY DURING LENDING LIBRARY HOURS.  Students are asked not to bring friends or family members with them during the lending library hours as they will be asked to wait outside.  Exceptions:  students with disabilities.
  • PATIENCE AND COOPERATION IS APPRECIATED.  THANK YOU.

Due Dates and Fines

Textbook Lending Library books are due back on the LAST DAY OF FINALS of each semester.  The overdue late charge is a $5.00 per day fine per book.  A 24/7 drive up book drop is located at the flag pole near the Administration building and another is located at the west entrance of the LRC Building opposite the Student Services Center.

Click here for more information.