Research in the Library: Articles and books

Multidisciplinary Topics:

• Directory of Open Access Journals A directory of over 5000 OA journals (almost 2300 of which are article searchable). DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
• OpenDOAR OpenDOAR is an authoritative worldwide directory of academic open access repositories.
• Connexions allows you to look at and distribute information in chunks that can be organized into usable pieces, for free.
• The Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH) repository is an open access repository.
• Elsevier Open Access Journals has over 100 free peer-reviewed journals.  Check out their A-Z list.
• Highwire Stanford University Free online full-text articles are available from Highwire Press.

Science and Medicine:

• ABC-Chemistry: Directory of free full-text journals in Chemistry.
• PLOS (Public Library of Science): Free science journal articles.
• Pubmed Central Open Access: You may be able to find medical articles from PMC's Creative Commons.
• Science Direct has hundreds open access journal articles in the field of science.
• SpringerOpen: Springer’s portfolio of 160+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.
• Wiley has dozens of open access science journals.

Other subjects:

• Math journals: UC Berkeley's list of free online math journals.
• Law: The American Bar Association's free full-text online law review and legal journals.

• Google Books
  Google has partnered with over 20,000 publishers and authors, and several major research libraries, to makes their books discoverable through Google Books. While only limited text can be viewed from books still under copyright, the full text of many public domain books, especially those published before 1923, is available. Use the Advanced Search page to limit your search to full-text or public domain books.
• HathiTrust Digital Library
  Through a partnership with more than two dozen research libraries, HathiTrust currently makes available more than 4.9 million digitized volumes, approximately 15 percent of which are in the public domain. The HathiTrust Digital Library complements content available through Google Books: while some content between the two services overlaps, HathiTrust provides some content Google does not, including digital collections unique to participating institutions, works from institutional repositories, and native born-digital materials.
• Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts Archive
  The Internet Archive includes the full text of more than 2.5 million online books and texts, including works of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books. Books can be dowloaded and read in a variety of formats, including text (.txt), PDF, ePub, Mobi (for Amazon.com's Kindle), DAISY, and DJVU.
• The Online Books Page: Archives and Indexes
  A large compilation of full-text literature resources on the Web. Includes sections on general-purpose collections with substantial English-language listings (large-scale repositories; significant indexes and search aids; and significant smaller-scale archives), foreign language and literature resources, and specialty archives.

Information from the Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/rr/askalib/faq.html#aalfaq5