Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Intro to Speech/Comm V01: Persuasive Speeches

Use the Library resources for your Informative and Persuasive Speeches!

Need ideas for a topic?

If you are looking for ideas for your persuasive speech, browse Infotrac's Opposing Viewpoints in Context database for ideas.  Click on the Browse Issues link at the top of the page to see an alphabetical list of topics.

Get ideas from the news

Google News collects up-to-date headlines from thousands of news publications.

Loading ...

 

 

Opinion or editorial pieces may be especially useful when you are preparing a topic for your persuasive speeches.

Loading ...
Loading ...

Databases

The article databases that deal with controversial issues or  "hot topics" include the following:

Gale:

  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context: This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces from the Opposing Viewpoints book series ("viewpoints"), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.

CQ:

  • CQ Researcher: This award-winning database is the online equivalent of the weekly publication of the same name. It is an excellent place to look for impartial and extensive reporting on controversial and complex issues. This database is a great resource to use especially for speech and debate classes. CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Oct. 1991 to the present.

Proquest:

  • ProQuest U.S. NewsstreamProQuest Newsstand provides full text access to more than 1300 newspapers, blogs, and news websites from all over the world. Articles, columns, obituaries, and editorials are covered. Newspapers include the Los Angeles Times, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, The Guardian, and many other nationally known titles. Regional papers are also covered.

 

EBSCO: This database has many specialized collections.  See the Database A-Z list for a full list.  A couple that may be useful for you are:

  •  Academic Search Complete:  A comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
  • Newspaper Source Plus Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.