Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Library Resources for Faculty and Staff: Basic Information

Library Resources available for Faculty and Staff

Basics About the Library

The Library isn't just intended for the students. There are many different resources that can benefit Ventura College faculty and staff.

Checking Out Books

You don't need a library card to check out books from the Library. All you need is your 900 number. Don't remember your 900 number? This number can be located on your pay stub, which you can access via the Work Life tab in the portal.

If you have never checked out a book with us before, bring along a photo ID, and we will enter you into the library's circulation software.

Using Library Databases from Off Campus

Did you know that you can use Library databases from off campus?

Starting at the College home page, go to the top of the screen, select the "Online Services," menu and choose the "Online Library" option:

Online Services menu

This will take you to the Library Resources page. From here, you can access many of our major databases, such as EBSCO Academic Search Premier, ProQuest Research Library, or JSTOR; check out our list of databases by subject, or look at the alphabetical list of databases.

When you click on the link for any of our databases while you are off campus, you will be prompted by the portal login screen. Go ahead and log in using your portal login and password as you normally would. You should then be taken into the database. If you are instead taken into the portal, just go to the Faculty tab and click the link for Ventura Library Online Resources. Then click the name of the database you wish to use.

If you ever have problems accessing database, please don't hesitate to contact a libraran. You can find our email addresses on our Staff Contact list.

Subject Guide