Book Delivery & Pick-Up Services
You can now use OneSearch to request books to be delivered right to your door or to one of our new lockers for you to pick up in-person on campus! Books from our Main Collection, Leisure Reading Collection, and Textbook Lending Library are available to request.
- Use OneSearch to search for your book title.
- Click on the book title and scroll down to "Get It"
- Click on "Request"
- For home delivery, select "Home Address" from the drop-down menu.
- For locker pick-up, select "VC Main" from the drop-down menu.
- Click on "Send"
- For home delivery: Requests submitted on or before Tuesdays at 12:00 pm will be processed and shipped before the end of the business week. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery.
- For locker pick-up: Once your request has been processed and is available for pick-up, you will receive an email with further instructions.
Home Delivery Request Walk Through
OneSearch
OneSearch allows you to search across all library resources at once, including the library catalog (eBooks) and all library databases.
OneSearch Help
The library's YouTube channel has many videos that will guide you through using OneSearch. Below is a video that will familiarize students with OneSearch.
Locker Pick-Up Request Walk Through
Databases
You can still access and search individual databases through our Databases A-Z page. Below are a few that are multi-discipinary databases that are good starting points for most research.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
- GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
You can also view our Library Guides by Subject to help students with research and accessing databases for specific subjects.
Database Help
The library's YouTube channel has videos that will help students with using the databases effectively. Below is one on database search strategies.
Embedding Articles into Canvas
Articles you find through OneSearch or specific databases can be embedded into your Canvas course. See our Embedding Library Content in Canvas for more details.
Contact a Librarian
| Peter Sezzi, Librarian & Department Chair Office: LRC 212 Phone: 805-289-6189 Email: psezzi@vcccd.edu |
Kaela Casey, Librarian Office: LRC 211 Phone: 805-289-6563 Email: kcasey@vcccd.edu |
Linda Kennedy, Librarian Office: LRC 210 Phone: 805-289-6399 Email: linda_kennedy1@vcccd.edu |
Reference Desk Phone: 805-289-6382 Email: vclibrary@vcccd.edu |