Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Library Databases and Electronic Resources
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA is a search engine of digitized library materials and archival resources and museum collections from libraries across the United States. A fantastic resource to use for image research, primary sources, and sound recordings, oral histories and much more.
The African American years : chronologies of American history and experience by
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
It is widely recognized that American history consists not of a single, unitary narrative, but of many narratives shaped by race, gender, and ethnic origins. The African American Years is a companion to Charles Scribners Sons chronology of U.S. history The American Years, second edition. Whereas that reference work examined U.S. history in its entirety, The African American Years focuses specifically on the history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present. This timeline is enriched by overview essays, sidebars, and primary sources - poems, memoirs, legal documents - and more than two hundred images that chronicle the story of African Americans and create a portrait encompassing its struggles, triumphs, complexity, and exuberance. Features include a comprehensive index; sidebars spotlighting specific people and topics; approximately 250 images; and a bibliography.
American decades : primary sources by
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2004
"American Decades Primary Sources is designed as a stand-alone set and also as a companion to Thomson Gale's 10-volume "American Decades Series. Each "Primary Sources volume covers a decade in American history corresponding to an original "American Decades volume, amplifying and illuminating the decade with first-hand accounts and other primary source documentation. Each volume includes approximately 165 full-text or excerpted historical documents from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. These documents include advertisements, commercials, diaries, literary works, newspaper articles, memoirs, periodical articles, speeches and other types of primary source materials.
The Corset and the Crinoline A Book of Modes and Costumes from Remote Periods to the Present Time by
Call Number: Access content in Project Gutenberg
Publication Date: 2015-08-08
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.
Intimate apparel Fabulation or The re-education of Undine by
Call Number: EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America)
Publication Date: 2006
"Lynn Nottage's work explores depths of humanness, the overlapping complexities of race, gender, culture and history--and the startling simplicity of desire--with a clear tenderness, with humor, with compassion." --Paula Vogel, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Intimate Apparel: "Thoughtful, affecting new play . . . with seamless elegance."--Charles Isherwood, Variety Fabulation: "Robustly entertaining comedy . . . with punchy social insights and the firecracker snap of unexpected humor."--Ben Brantley, The New York Times With her two latest plays, "exceptionally gifted playwright" (New York Observer) Lynn Nottage has created companion pieces that span 100 years in the lives of African American women. Intimate Apparel is about the empowerment of Esther, a proud and shy seamstress in 1905 New York who creates exquisite lingerie for both Fifth Avenue boudoirs and Tenderloin bordellos. In Fabulation Nottage re-imagines Esther as Undine, the PR-diva of today, who spirals down from her swanky Manhattan office to her roots back in Brooklyn. Through opposite journeys, Esther and Undine achieve the same satisfying end, one of self-discovery. Lynn Nottage's plays include Crumbs from the Table of Joy; Mud, River, Stone; Por' Knockers; Las Menias; Fabulation and Intimate Apparel, for which she was awarded the Francesca Primus Prize and the American Theatre Critics/Steinberg New Play Award in 2004. Her plays have been produced at theatres throughout the country, with Intimate Apparel slated for 16 productions during the 2005-2006 season.
Suggested Online Resources for Intimate Apparel
African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition
The Paris Exposition of 1900 (Exposition universelle internationale de 1900) devoted a building to matters of "social economy." The United States section of the building featured an exhibit that, according to W. E. B. Du Bois, attempted to show "(a) The history of the American Negro. (b) His present condition. (c) His education. (d) His literature."
Howard University Prints and Photographs Department Collections
Digital Howard is an online repository curated by the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center and the Howard University Libraries.
Rediscovering an American Community of Color: The photographs of William Bullard
Between 1897 and 1918, photographer William Bullard took over 5400 photographs, leaving behind a trove of glass negatives, many of which remained untouched for nearly a hundred years.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: Photographs and Prints Division
The Photographs and Prints Division contains both documentary and fine art photographs, which document the history and culture of people of African descent worldwide as well as the work of photographers of African descent. The collection of over 300,000 images ranges from mid-eighteenth century graphics to contemporary documentary and art photography; all of the major photographic processes are represented.
University of Washington Black Heritage Collection
The Black Heritage Society of Washington State, Inc. is a non-profit organization dedicated to the acquisition, preservation, and exhibition of materials relating to the history and culture of African Americans in the State of Washington.
University of Washington Fashion Plate Collection
The original fashion plates collected by Blanche Payne and others have been cataloged and carefully stored for preservation purposes in archival housing. Many of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century.
Other Online Resources for Intimate Apparel
General Online Image and Costume Resources
Welcome to Calisphere: your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
Costume Gallery Research Guide
A central location to study costume and fashion online since 1996.
The Costumer’s Manifesto
Large searchable database of world costume.
Google Advanced Image Search
Helpful Google image search tool.
The History of Costume by Braun & Schneider
The "History of Costume" or "Zur Geschichte der Kostüme" was printed from 1861 to 1880 in Munich by the publishing firm of Braun and Schneider. It was originally published as individual plates in a German magazine titled "Münchener Bilderbogen". Later, these plates were collected and bound into book form. The total publication consisted of 125 pages, with four pictures per pages, for a total of 500 costume designs. These plates consisted of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century.
La Couturiere Parisienne
This site is all about period costume, from the Middle Ages up to the early 20th century. Access 4000 costume pictures through a database, read one of hundreds of articles, or download some authentic period patterns.
Library of Congress: Photos, Prints, Drawings
Vast searchable collections with photos, prints, drawings.
Images, inspiration, research, and tutorials for all things fashion.