Ventura College Library Guides: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resources: DEI Library Resources

Print Books from the VC Library

eBooks from the VC Library

Useful Databases

EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Almost 120,000 e-books are available in this collection geared specifically to academic audiences. Topics include art, science, political science, religion, technology and engineering, and many more. Users can search by title, subject, and author, as well as full-text. You can view individual sections or chapters of books, as well as print or email them. Citation assistance is available.
EBSCO ERIC This link opens in a new window Developed and maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the preeminent database for any topic related to education. The EBSCO version of this database includes access to 1.3 million records and full-text access to over 300,000 full-text reports and articles contained within ERIC going back to 1966.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window This collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 31,000 films and 300,000 film clips from producers including A&E, BBC, HBO Documentary Films, National Geographic, Scientific American, PBS, and Ken Burns. Faculty can embed films into Canvas, and after creating an account within the database, can create playlist and film segments.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos that inspire, enrich and entertain. (Note: Once you arrive on the Kanopy page, look for the red "Get Started" button and then follow the prompts to gain full access to the Kanopy Library.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window Use OneSearch to search across the library catalog and all library databases.
GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window A collection of almost 150,000 authoritative, full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, including art, humanities, social sciences, history, science, technology, and many more.
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window ProQuest Psychology Database has over 540 titles available in full text. Many of these titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Topics covered include personality, neurology, psychobiology, behavioral psychology, cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, experimental psychology, and many other areas of psychology, including psychometrics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.