Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo for Ventura College Library

Nursing: Articles

OneSearch Articles


 

 

Use OneSearch to search across all library resources.  Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.

In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles).  The video below will walk you through this process.

Recommended Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information: AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers, with content updated monthly.

CINAHLThis database provides subject and keyword searching capabilities to specialized articles from more than 620 nursing & allied health journals. Evidence-based Care Sheets and health-related pamphlets are also included.

Health Source: Consumer Edition: This consumer health database accesses almost 80 full-text consumer health magazines and provides information on many topics, including general health, nutrition and the food sciences, medical sciences, child care, and sports medicine.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: This database is designed for nursing and allied health students and provides access to almost "550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."

MEDLINE: Developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the most comprehensive and authoritative database for information on medicine, nursing, health, "pre-clinical sciences, and much more." Contains links to selected full-text sources available with the EBSCO family of databases.

Database Search Strategies

Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google.  This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.

Peer Reviewed vs. Popular

For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles.  These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.

Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.

For more information on article types, watch this video and check out our Information Evaluation guide.