OneSearch Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
Search Specific Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
- GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window This is an excellent place to look for impartial and extensive reporting on controversial and complex issues, and it's a great resource to use especially for speech and debate classes. CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Oct. 1991 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest Research Library or EBSCO Academic Search Premier. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
- EBSCO America: History and Life This link opens in a new window The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 1,700 journals from 1955 to the present with full text access to more than 200 journals and almost 100 books.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window SAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes streaming media/video, scholarly books, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Current Events
- EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
- ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980 – present), Washington Post (1987 – present), Los Angeles Times (1985 – present), Chicago Tribune (1985 – present), and the Wall Street Journal (1984 – present).
- EBSCO Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Psychology-Focused Databases
- ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window ProQuest Psychology Database has over 540 titles available in full text. Many of these titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Topics covered include personality, neurology, psychobiology, behavioral psychology, cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, experimental psychology, and many other areas of psychology, including psychometrics.
- ProQuest APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this is the premier database to use when searching for full-text articles from 63 different peer-reviewed psychology journals published by the APA.
- ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window ProQuest Psychology Database has over 540 titles available in full text. Many of these titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Topics covered include personality, neurology, psychobiology, behavioral psychology, cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, experimental psychology, and many other areas of psychology, including psychometrics.
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.
Free Online Articles
This is an open access archive hosted by the University of Maryland of social science papers, pre-print articles, and published articles. You can search the archive or browse by topic.
Peer Reviewed vs. Popular
For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.
Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.
For more information on article types, watch this video and check out our Information Evaluation guide.