Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Theatre Arts: Articles

OneSearch Articles


 

 

Use OneSearch to search across all library resources.  Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.

In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles).  For more information on the difference between these types of articles, see our Scholarly vs. Popular Sources guide.

Where to Find Additional Journal Articles

Use these databases to find more journal, newspaper, and magazine articles relevant to your topic.

Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to more than 8500 full-text periodicals.

JSTOR
Great for historical research, this database provides full-text access to hundreds of journals. Articles published within the last 5 years are typically not available in this database.

ProQuest Research Library
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to more than 5000 journal titles from 1971 to present day.

Database Search Tips

  • When searching for names or multi-word phrases, use quotes around the terms. This tells the database you want to find articles with those two words together as a phrase.
    • For example: "musical theatre"
  • Use "AND" to search for two or more concepts together.
    • For example: "musical theatre" AND dance
  • Use "OR" to search for alternate or related terms.
    • For example: "set design" OR scenography

Library Chat

Peer-Reviewed vs. Popular

For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles.  These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.

Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.

For more information on article types, see our Scholarly vs. Popular Sources guide.