Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo for Ventura College Library

Music: Websites

Sheet Music, Recordings, and Other Primary Sources

Archive of Popular American Music
Sheet music from 1790-present.

California Sheet Music
Provides access to more than 2700 pieces of sheet music published in California from 1852-1900.

ChoralWiki
Find free choral and vocal scores and more.

Global Music Archive
Access sound recordings of indigenous music from Africa and the Americas.

Juilliard Manuscript Collection
140 rare manuscripts from Beethoven, Bach, Mozart, and more.

Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Collections include sheet music, musical instruments, and other historical photographs and documents.

National Museum of American History - Music and Musical Instruments
Find instruments, sheet music, oral histories, and more.

Sheet Music Consortium
Digitized sheet music from library, museum, and archival collections from around the globe.

Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments
Browse more than 2500 historical and contemporary musical instruments.

The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings
Search more than 150,000 recordings produced in the U.S and Mexico from about 1905-1990.

Evaluating Websites

Remember, anyone can publish anything online!  Make sure you take a critical look at any websites you are considering using for your research! 

Watch the video below and check out our Information Evaluation guide for more details.