It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
CountryWatchThis link opens in a new windowUse this database to find up-to-date and reliable information on the politics, history and geopolitical intelligence of all countries in the world.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowThe best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 1,700 journals from 1955 to the present with full text access to more than 200 journals and almost 100 books.
CQ Elections A-ZThis link opens in a new windowThis is a guide to all things pertaining to United States elections. Find out information about presidential parties and elections, state government, midterm elections, gubernatorial candidates, and caucuses. There are graphs, charts, images, historic documents, and dictionary entries.
Military & Government CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides current news to all branches of the military and government as well as other useful information. It has the full text of almost 300 periodicals and indexing for more than 400 titles.
SAGE KnowledgeThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes streaming media/video, scholarly books, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis link opens in a new windowThis database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowThis is an excellent place to look for impartial and extensive reporting on controversial and complex issues, and it's a great resource to use especially for speech and debate classes. CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Oct. 1991 to the present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest Research Library or EBSCO Academic Search Premier. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, including the Ventura County Star. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
ProQuest U.S. Major DailiesThis link opens in a new windowUS Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980 – present), Washington Post (1987 – present), Los Angeles Times (1985 – present), Chicago Tribune (1985 – present), and the Wall Street Journal (1984 – present).
Regional Business NewsThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.
Peer Reviewed vs. Popular
For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.
Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.