Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Chemistry: Articles

OneSearch Articles


 

 

Use OneSearch to search across all library resources.  Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.

In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles).  For more information on the difference between these types of articles, see our Scholarly vs. Popular Sources guide.

Search Specific Databases

Try searching Databases A-Z (hightlighted) for specific databases. 

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to more than 8500 full-text periodicals.

HealthSource: Nursing/Academic Edition
This health and nursing focused database contains more than 500 scholarly full-text journals on various medical disciplines.

ProQuest Biology Journals
Contains more than 300 full-text titles covering various aspects of biology.

ProQuest Research Library
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to more than 5000 journal titles from 1971 to present day.

PubMed
Contains 27 million citations for biomedical literature with many linking to full-text at PubMed Central and publisher websites.

PLOS (Public Library of Science)
An open access database of scholarly articles.

Database Search Tips

  • When searching for names or multi-word phrases, use quotes around the terms. This tells the database you want to find articles with those two words together as a phrase.
    • For example: "organic chemistry"
  • Use "AND" to search for two or more concepts together.
    • For example: "organic chemistry" AND medicine
  • Use "OR" to search for alternate or related terms.
    • For example: medicine OR toxicology

Peer-Reviewed vs. Popular

For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles.  These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.

Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.

For more information on article types, see our Scholarly vs. Popular Sources guide.

Library Chat