ACLS Humanities E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowAn online collection of around 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with thirty-one learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library.
EBSCO eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowAlmost 120,000 e-books are available in this collection geared specifically to academic audiences. Topics include art, science, political science, religion, technology and engineering, and many more. Users can search by title, subject, and author, as well as full-text. You can view individual sections or chapters of books, as well as print or email them. Citation assistance is available.
ProQuest eBook CentralThis link opens in a new windowA collection of almost 150,000 authoritative, full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, including art, humanities, social sciences, history, science, technology, and many more.
SAGE KnowledgeThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes streaming media/video, scholarly books, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowSpringerLink contains the full text of over 25,00 books available entirely online. These books, covering areas such as nursing, biomedical sciences, engineering, computer science, and chemistry, can be read by more than one person at a time. Entire book chapters can also be downloaded in PDF format. You can also search for books in our online catalog. In addition, you can also access thousands of other articles, book chapters, textbooks, medical and biomedical protocols, and reference texts for free.
Very Short IntroductionsThis link opens in a new windowPublished by Oxford University Press, the Very Short Introductions books provide a concise overview of a variety of topics in the Arts and Humanities, Law, Medicine and Health, Science and Mathematics, and the Social Sciences. Print copies of Very Short Introduction titles are also available in the library.
eBooks you find in these collections can be embedded into Canvas. See our Embedding Library Content in Canvas guide for instructions. The video below will go over how to locate permalinks in our databases.
Contact a Librarian
Peter Sezzi, Librarian & Department Chair
Office: LRC 212
Phone: 805-289-6189
Email: psezzi@vcccd.edu
