Skip to main content logo for Ventura College Library

Online Resources for Faculty: eBooks & Videos

Online resources from the library and the web to aid in online instruction during the coronavirus crisis.

Library eBook Collections

  • ACLS Humanities eBooks
    • Humanities electronic books offered by the American Council of Learned Societies.
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    • Large collection of electronic books in a variety of disciplines.
  • SpringerLink
    • Collection of science and technology focused electronic books.
  • Very Short Introductions
    • Collection of the Oxford University Press Very Short Introduction Series. Please note that our current subscription allows only one user at a time.

eBooks you find in these collections can be embedded into Canvas. See our Embedding Library Content in Canvas guide for instructions. The video below will go over how to locate permalinks in our databases.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides access to more than 31,000 films and 300,000 films clips from producers including A&E, BBC, HBO Documentary Films, National Geographic, Scientific American, PBS, and Ken Burns.

Faculty can create accounts within Films on Demand and create playlists, film segments, and even add a custom video welcome/introduction.

Films can also be embedded into Canvas.  See our Embedding Library Content in Canvas guide for step-by-step instructions.

Hoopla

Hoopla offers access to audiobooks, electronic books, electronic graphic novels, movies, tv shows, and music.  Hoopla can be accessed online or by downloading the Hoopla app to your phone or tablet.

In order to access Hoopla, you must first sign up for an account:

1. Go to hoopladigital.com
2. Click on "Get Started Today"
3. Enter your email (this does not need to be your VCCCD email) and create a password
4. Select the Ventura College Library
5. Enter your 900 number and click on "Sign me up"

Unfortunately, the option to embed content from Hoopla into Canvas is not available. Students will need to create an account and go directly into Hoopla to access content.

Contact a Librarian

Peter Sezzi, Librarian & Department Chair
Office:  LRC 212
Phone:  805-289-6189
Email:  psezzi@vcccd.edu
Kaela Casey, Librarian
Office:  LRC 211
Phone:  805-289-6563
Email:  kcasey@vcccd.edu
Linda Kennedy, Librarian
Office:  LRC 210
Phone: 805-289-6399
Email:  linda_kennedy1@vcccd.edu
Reference Desk
Phone:  805-289-6382
Email:  vclibrary@vcccd.edu