OneSearch Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
Recommended Databases
In addition to using OneSearch to locate articles, you can also go directly into one of our databases and search. Using databases that are focused on specific subjects can help you get a narrower, more relevant list of results.
- EBSCO America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowThe best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 1,700 journals from 1955 to the present with full text access to more than 200 journals and almost 100 books.
- EBSCO European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new windowThis database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, and contains the citation information for more than 32,000 titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest Research Library or EBSCO Academic Search Premier. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.
Key Journals
Browse some of the important journals in the field of Native American and Indigenous Studies:
Peer Reviewed vs. Popular
For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.
Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.
For more information on article types, watch this video and check out our Information Evaluation guide.