OneSearch Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
Recommended Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
- EBSCO America: History and Life This link opens in a new window The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 1,700 journals from 1955 to the present with full text access to more than 200 journals and almost 100 books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest Research Library or EBSCO Academic Search Premier. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
- EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
- GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.