Ventura College Library Guides: History: Primary Sources

Newspaper Databases

EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980 – present), Washington Post (1987 – present), Los Angeles Times (1985 – present), Chicago Tribune (1985 – present), and the Wall Street Journal (1984 – present).
EBSCO Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Tips and Tricks for Google Searches

Primary Sources Online

Many libraries, museums, and archives have some or all of their collections digitized and available online. Using Google Advanced Search can help you locate primary source collections available online.

Type in your topic in the "All these words" search box
Type in library, archive, and museum in the "Any of these words" search box
Then limit your search to a specific domain; libraries, archives, and museums typically have a .edu or .org address. Some government museums and archives use .gov.

Evaluating Websites

Remember, anyone can publish anything online! Make sure you take a critical look at any websites you are considering using for your research!

Watch the video below and check out our Information Evaluation guide for more details.