OneSearch Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
Recommended Databases
Business-Focused Databases
- EBSCO Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to over 1,000 business publications, with access to some journals going back as far as 1985. Also included within this sources are more than 10,000 company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window This database provides access to over 3,000 business cases spanning a wide range of business disciplines from leadership to entrepreneurship, to family business and social impact. SAGE has partnered with 20 business case producers, including Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern), Berkeley Haas (California), and the School of Management (Yale).
Newspapers
- EBSCO Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
- ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980 – present), Washington Post (1987 – present), Los Angeles Times (1985 – present), Chicago Tribune (1985 – present), and the Wall Street Journal (1984 – present).
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest Research Library or EBSCO Academic Search Premier. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.
Business/Economics Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers
The VC Library has many business-focused magazines, newspapers, and journals - both in print and online!
Recent editions can be found in the Reading Room. Past editions can be found in the Periodicals section, behind the Reference section.
Bloomberg Businessweek
The Economist
Hispanic Business
Inc.
Newsweek
Online
The Economist (1988-present)
Entrepreneur (2003-present)
Forbes (1990-present)
Fortune (1992-present)
Harvard Business Review (1985-present)
Money (1990-present)
U.S. News & World Report (1990-present)
Peer Reviewed vs. Popular
For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.
Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.
For more information on article types, watch this video and check out our Information Evaluation guide.