OneSearch eBooks
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your search results to electronic books by using the options in the "Refine My Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Books." In the "Availability" section, select "Available Online." Your results should now be only electronic books.
The video below will cover using OneSearch to locate both books and electronic books.
eBook Databases
In addition to using OneSearch to find eBooks, you can also go directly to one of our eBook databases.
- ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window An online collection of around 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with thirty-one learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Almost 120,000 e-books are available in this collection geared specifically to academic audiences. Topics include art, science, political science, religion, technology and engineering, and many more. Users can search by title, subject, and author, as well as full-text. You can view individual sections or chapters of books, as well as print or email them. Citation assistance is available.
- ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window A collection of almost 150,000 authoritative, full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, including art, humanities, social sciences, history, science, technology, and many more.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window SAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes streaming media/video, scholarly books, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window SpringerLink contains the full text of over 25,00 books available entirely online. These books, covering areas such as nursing, biomedical sciences, engineering, computer science, and chemistry, can be read by more than one person at a time. Entire book chapters can also be downloaded in PDF format. You can also search for books in our online catalog. In addition, you can also access thousands of other articles, book chapters, textbooks, medical and biomedical protocols, and reference texts for free.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, the Very Short Introductions books provide a concise overview of a variety of topics in the Arts and Humanities, Law, Medicine and Health, Science and Mathematics, and the Social Sciences. Print copies of Very Short Introduction titles are also available in the library.
Advanced Search Tips
- Think of 1-3 key words that describe your topic and use those as your search terms.
- When searching for names or multi-word phrases, use quotes around your terms. This tells the catalog that you want to find books with those words together as a phrase.
- For example: "Howard Schultz" or "social media marketing"
- Use the "Subjects" links found in each book record to find related books.
- If you aren't finding anything useful, try thinking of alternate terms for your search terms. How else might people describe your topic?
- For example: If your topic is "social media marketing" you could also try searching for "marketing strategy" or even "customer relations"