OneSearch Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
Recommended Databases
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
- GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
Psychology-Focused Databases
- ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window ProQuest Psychology Database has over 540 titles available in full text. Many of these titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Topics covered include personality, neurology, psychobiology, behavioral psychology, cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, experimental psychology, and many other areas of psychology, including psychometrics.
- ProQuest APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this is the premier database to use when searching for full-text articles from 63 different peer-reviewed psychology journals published by the APA.
- EBSCO Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window According to EBSCO, "this is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals." This resource provides access to journal articles on all "topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods."
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.
Peer Reviewed vs. Popular
For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.
Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.
For more information on article types, watch this video and check out our Information Evaluation guide.