It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for Distance Education Students: eBooks
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your search results to electronic books by using the options in the "Refine My Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Books." In the "Availability" section, select "Available Online." Your results should now be only electronic books.
The video below will cover using OneSearch to locate both books and electronic books.
Electronic Book Databases
ACLS Humanities E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowAn online collection of around 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with thirty-one learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library.
EBSCO eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowAlmost 120,000 e-books are available in this collection geared specifically to academic audiences. Topics include art, science, political science, religion, technology and engineering, and many more. Users can search by title, subject, and author, as well as full-text. You can view individual sections or chapters of books, as well as print or email them. Citation assistance is available.
ProQuest eBook CentralThis link opens in a new windowA collection of almost 150,000 authoritative, full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, including art, humanities, social sciences, history, science, technology, and many more.
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowSpringerLink contains the full text of over 25,00 books available entirely online. These books, covering areas such as nursing, biomedical sciences, engineering, computer science, and chemistry, can be read by more than one person at a time. Entire book chapters can also be downloaded in PDF format. You can also search for books in our online catalog. In addition, you can also access thousands of other articles, book chapters, textbooks, medical and biomedical protocols, and reference texts for free.
SAGE KnowledgeThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes streaming media/video, scholarly books, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Very Short IntroductionsThis link opens in a new windowPublished by Oxford University Press, the Very Short Introductions books provide a concise overview of a variety of topics in the Arts and Humanities, Law, Medicine and Health, Science and Mathematics, and the Social Sciences. Print copies of Very Short Introduction titles are also available in the library.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full text of hundreds of subject specific reference books, which contain close to three-quarters of a million full text scholarly articles that originally appeared in print reference books. Note: The VC Library owns only some of the reference books included in this database in print form.
Online eBook Resources
Google BooksThis link opens in a new windowGet links, previews, and reviews of published eBooks.
HathiTrustThis link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Project GutenbergThis link opens in a new windowAccess full text public domain titles that were published before the 1930s.