It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for Distance Education Students: Articles
You have access to more than 40 databases that contain newspaper, magazine, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a variety of topics. While OneSearch searches across all of these databases, it can sometimes be helpful to go directly to a database and search for your topic. Some databases are focused on specific subjects, so if your topic matches, using that database may help you get a narrower, more relevant list of results.
Use our Databases A-Z list to see all databases. Each database has a brief description of what types of articles and subjects may be found in the database.
These multi-disciplinary databases that are a good place to start your research are:
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis link opens in a new windowThis database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
Using OneSearch to Find Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.