Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to all EBSCO databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This database contains the full text of hundreds of subject specific reference books, which contain close to three-quarters of a million full text scholarly articles that originally appeared in print reference books. Note: The VC Library owns only some of the reference books included in this database in print form.
This database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest Research Library or EBSCO Academic Search Premier. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
Access to all ProQuest databases.
This is an excellent place to look for impartial and extensive reporting on controversial and complex issues, and it's a great resource to use especially for speech and debate classes. CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Oct. 1991 to the present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
The following volumes of Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology can be found in ProQuest eBook Central: Volume 2, Part A ; Volume 2, Part B ; Volume 2, Part C ; Volume 3 ; Volume 4 ; Volume 5
Once in the database, search for "Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology" to locate each volume.
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5) is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.
ProQuest APA PsycArticles
Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this is the premier database to use when searching for full-text articles from 63 different peer-reviewed psychology journals published by the APA.
ProQuest Biological Science Collection
ProQuest Biology Journals coves many different biology topics, including biochemistry, botany, zoology, environmental studies, microbiology, cytology, and biophysics. More than 325 titles are available full text.
ProQuest Psychology Database
ProQuest Psychology Database has over 540 titles available in full text. Many of these titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Topics covered include personality, neurology, psychobiology, behavioral psychology, cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, experimental psychology, and many other areas of psychology, including psychometrics.
SAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes streaming media/video, scholarly books, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, including the Ventura County Star. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
Provides near real-time access to top worldwide news from various news outlets including Associated Press, CNN Wire, and Business Wire.
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Provides near real time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. This collection includes over 14,000 feeds covering a range of business and general news topics.