OneSearch Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
Recommended Databases
In addition to using OneSearch to locate articles, you can also go directly into one of our databases and search. Using databases that are focused on specific subjects can help you get a narrower, more relevant list of results.
Articles
- GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window This database is an excellent place to begin one's research on any current event or controversial topic. Opposing Viewpoints includes opinion pieces (i.e. viewpoint essays), magazine, newspaper and journal articles, entries from reference works (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries), statistics, images, scholarly websites, plus much more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window This is an excellent place to look for impartial and extensive reporting on controversial and complex issues, and it's a great resource to use especially for speech and debate classes. CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Oct. 1991 to the present.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
Newspaper Articles
- EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
- ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980 – present), Washington Post (1987 – present), Los Angeles Times (1985 – present), Chicago Tribune (1985 – present), and the Wall Street Journal (1984 – present).
Peer Reviewed vs. Popular
For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.
Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.
For more information on article types, watch this video and check out our Information Evaluation guide.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a great database to use to explore and become more familiar with topics. It's a unique database that allows you to browse sources on specific topics instead of keying in search terms. The video below will show you how to navigate this database.
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.