It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.
In addition to using OneSearch to locate articles, you can also go directly into one of our databases and search. Using databases that are focused on specific subjects can help you get a narrower, more relevant list of results.
Cultural Anthropology Topics
If your topic falls within cultural anthropology (for example, gender roles, social stratification, art, religious systems, language, etc.) try these databases.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASP contains access to over 4,600 periodicals, including almost 3,900 peer-reviewed journals, some going back to the mid-1970s or earlier.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest Research Library or EBSCO Academic Search Premier. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
Biological Anthropology Topics
If your topic falls within biological anthropology (evolution, genetics, human physical diversity, etc.) try these databases.
GreenFileThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text access to a collection of almost 5,000 sources "covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more."
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowDeveloped and maintained by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the most comprehensive and authoritative database for information on medicine, nursing, health, "pre-clinical sciences, and much more." Contains links to selected full-text sources available with the EBSCO family of databases.
ProQuest Biological Science CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Biology Journals coves many different biology topics, including biochemistry, botany, zoology, environmental studies, microbiology, cytology, and biophysics. More than 325 titles are available full text.
eHRAF ArchaeologyThis link opens in a new windoweHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
eHRAF World CulturesThis link opens in a new windoweHRAF World Cultures database contains information on present and past aspects of cultural and social life for a worldwide sample of societies.
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.
Browse some of the important journals in the field of anthropology:
For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.
Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.