Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo for Ventura College Library

Political Science: Websites

Political Archives, Libraries, and Museums

CSU Channel Islands Archives and Digital Collections
Includes the archives of local political figures and activists. Many items from collections have been digitized and are available online.

Hoover Institution Digital Collections
Founded by Herbert Hoover, this website contains digitized materials from their library and archive including posters, images, videos, sound recordings, and other historical documents.

National Archives
Preserves documents relevant to U.S. history dating back to 1775. 

Oakland Museum of California - Political Posters Digital Collection
Provides access to political posters from 1965 to present day. 

Political TV Ad Archive
A project of the Internet Archive, this site provides access to 2016 political ads.

Presidential Libraries
Online access to 14 Presidential Libraries, as well as information on researching presidential papers and visiting the libraries.

Demographics, Statistics, and Data

Exploring Census Data (Formerly American FactFinder)
From the U.S. Census Bureau, provides access to data from a variety of surveys and censuses.

CIA World Factbook
"Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

Pew Research Center
Data from the Pew Research Center's public opinion polling, demographic research, and content analysis.

U.S. Census Bureau
Find detailed data from the U.S. Census Bureau surveys and censuses. Search by topics, geography, and more.

Evaluating Websites

Remember, anyone can publish anything online!  Make sure you take a critical look at any websites you are considering using for your research! 

Watch the video below and check out our Information Evaluation guide for more details.