Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English, Math and Learning Resources Disciplines
The A to Z of Presentations
Whether you are giving a presentation to an important client, trying to win business from a valued customer, selling an idea to your board of senior executives, or making a farewell speech to a retiring colleague, this “A to Z…” will help you come across as someone who is knowledgeable, skilled, and enthusiastic.
An Introduction to Group Communications
Offers a practical introduction to the theory and practice of group communication, with an emphasis on real world applications to develop an awareness, understanding, and skills to effectively participate as a productive group member. Through a clear and concise approach to group decision-making and dynamics in teams and leadership, students are presented with the tools needed to create plans, find solutions to problems, produce goods or deliver services, and evaluate their performance through self and peer assessments.
Public Speaking: The Virtual Text
Online textbook from The Public Speaking Project.
Instructor recommended grammar tool.
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: C++ Version
Think C++ is a free textbook available under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Readers are free to copy and distribute the text; they are also free to modify it, which allows them to adapt the book to different needs, and to help develop new material.
Introduction to Computing: Explorations in Language, Logic, and Machines
This book introduces the most important ideas in computing using the Scheme and Python programming languages. It focuses on how to describe information processes by defining procedures, how to analyze the costs required to carry out a procedure, and the fundamental limits of what can and cannot be computed mechanically.
Mathematics for Computer Scientists
In this book you find the basic mathematics that is needed by computer scientists. The author will help you to understand the meaning and function of mathematical concepts. The best way to learn it, is by doing it, the exercises in this book will help you do just that.Topics as Elementary logic, factorization, plotting functions and matrices are explained.
Think OS: A Brief Introduction to Operating Systems
An introduction to Operating Systems for programmers. Includes material from operating systems, networks, databases, and embedded systems, but it emphasizes the topics programmers need to know.
Think Python: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist
Think Python is an introduction to Python programming for beginners. It starts with basic concepts of programming, and is carefully designed to define all terms when they are first used and to develop each new concept in a logical progression. Larger pieces, like recursion and object-oriented programming are divided into a sequence of smaller steps and introduced over the course of several chapters.
Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners
This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter includes listening and speaking components such as dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities.
The Informed Writer: Using Sources in the Disciplines
Addresses a wide range of writing activites and genres, from summarizing and responding to sources to writing the research paper and writing about literature.
Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity
iterature, the Humanities, and Humanity attempts to make the study of literature more than simply another school subject that students have to take. At a time when all subjects seem to be valued only for their testability, this book tries to show the value of reading and studying literature, even earlier literature. It shows students, some of whom will themselves become teachers, that literature actually has something to say to them. Furthermore, it shows that literature is meant to be enjoyed, that, as the Roman poet Horace (and his Renaissance disciple Sir Philip Sidney) said, the functions of literature are to teach and to delight.
Writing for Success
Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.
Writing in College
Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence is designed for students who have largely mastered the conventions of high-school level writing and are now rising to meet more the advanced expectations of college. Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to think of themselves as full, self-motivated members of the academic community. With concise explanations, clear multi-disciplinary examples and empathy for the challenges of student life, this short textbook both explains the purposes behind college-level writing and offers indispensable advice for organization and expression.
An openly licensed applied calculus textbook, covering derivatives, integrals, and an intro to multivariable calculus. This book is heavily remixed from Dale Hoffman's Contemporary Calculus textbook, and retains the same conceptual focus from that text.
Arithmetic for College Students
This book is a course on arithmetic designed for college students. It covers whole numbers, fractions, decimals, percents, ratios and proportions, measurement, and integers. Geometry and statistics are integrated throughout the text rather than covered in independent sections.
Calculus, Vol. 1
Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration. Volumes 2 and 3 are also available on Open Stax.
College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
Elementary College Geometry
This text is intended for a brief introductory course in plane geometry. It covers the topics from elementary geometry that are most likely to be required for more advanced mathematics courses.
This textbook is used by the Department of Mathematics at College of the Redwoods in Eureka, California for instructional purposes in their Math 120 course, Intermediate Algebra.
Prealgebra is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester prealgebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.
Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly-defined learning objectives and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way.
Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs.
The above is not a comprehensive list of OER for each discipline. To find even more examples of discipline-specific OER, visit the VCCCD Open Educational Resources (OER) Canvas page.
Have you used one of these resources and want to give feedback? Or have you found another OER that worked great for you?
Let us know! Send an email to Linda Kennedy.