Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Native Peoples of North America
Intended to be an introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective. As such, the text is organized around anthropological concepts such as language, kinship, marriage and family life, political and economic organization, food getting, spiritual and religious practices, and the arts. Prehistoric, historic and contemporary information is presented. Each chapter begins with an example from the oral tradition that reflects the theme of the chapter. The text includes suggested readings, videos, and classroom activities.
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology
The first peer-reviewed open access textbook for cultural anthropology courses. Produced by the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges and available free of charge for use in any setting.
Astronomy is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of one- or two-semester introductory astronomy courses. The book begins with relevant scientific fundamentals and progresses through an exploration of the solar system, stars, galaxies, and cosmology. The Astronomy textbook builds student understanding through the use of relevant analogies, clear and non-technical explanations, and rich illustrations. Mathematics is included in a flexible manner to meet the needs of individual instructors.
An introduction to the nature of the universe. Use it to research or review our solar system, stars, galaxies, and the history of the universe. Each chapter has a set of corresponding homework questions.
Biology is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes clicker questions to help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
Introductory textbooks on biology from Boundless. The organization of content aims to build a strong foundation in Biology.
Concepts of Biology
Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.
The Boundless Microbiology textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the subject of Microbiology, one of the building blocks of the life sciences.
Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
Chemistry: Atoms First
This title is an adaptation of the OpenStax Chemistry text and covers scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Reordered to fit an atoms first approach, this title introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, delaying the introduction of more abstract material so students have time to acclimate to the study of chemistry. Chemistry: Atoms First also provides a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course.
Fundamentals of Chemistry
This book deals with the states of matter, the mole, the shapes of molecules, the elements and their properties in the periodic table, the electronic structure of the elements and includes many numerical examples to apply the newly-learned concepts. Solutions to the exercises will be provided in the second volume of “Fundamental of Chemistry”.
Fundamentals of Chemistry Part II
This chemistry book deals with electrochemistry, chemical equilibrium, acids and bases, thermochemistry, and includes several numerical examples to apply the new concepts. Additional exercises and their solutions will be provided in the third volume of “Fundamental of Chemistry”.
Introduction to Inorganic Chemistry
The aim of the book is to introduce students to the basic ideas of inorganic chemistry and to show where they come from. It starts from chemical observations, and develops the ideas from these. It complements texts that start from the quantum theory of atoms and molecules and take a more physical approach.
The world’s first and only open content organic
chemistry textbook written by a team of experts and chemistry professors from Cleveland State University and other institutions.
Organic Chemistry Lab Techniques
In this resource you will find theory and procedures on the main organic lab techniques (chromatography, crystallization, extraction, distillation) as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses (see the Table of Contents tab for a more complete listing of topics).
Introduction to Clinical Biochemistry
This book is a concise introduction to the common blood tests and concepts used in pathology. It is aimed for undergraduate students reading medicine, nursing and midwifery and subjects allied to health such as Biomedical Science. However, since the book uses “example boxes” to explain complex terms in lay language, it should also be accessible to patients and people with a non-clinical background but an interest in the subject. The book is written in an informal style and allows for signposted learning of a complex subject through the use of further reading boxes, making it a suitable revision guide.
Physical Modeling in MATLAB
Physical Modeling in MATLAB is an introduction to programming in MATLAB and simulation of physical systems.
A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering
The first three chapters of this book provide a fairly complete coverage of complex numbers, the functions ex and ejθ, and phasors. Our department philosophy is that these topics must be understood if a student is to succeed in electrical and computer engineering. These three chapters may also be used as a supplement to a circuits course. A measured pace of presentation, taking between sixteen and eighteen lectures, is sufficient to cover all but the advanced sections in Complex Numbers through Phasors.
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering
This text focuses on the creation, manipulation, transmission, and reception of information by electronic means. Elementary signal theory; time- and frequency-domain analysis; Sampling Theorem. Digital information theory; digital transmission of analog signals; error-correcting codes.
Open Geography Education
This site contains free textbooks on various geography topics including GIS, human geography, physical geography, and more.
Nature of Geographic Information Systems
The purpose of this text is to promote understanding of the Geographic Information Science and Technology enterprise (GIS&T, also known as "geospatial").
Fundamentals of Physical Geography
The main objective of this online textbook is to introduce students to the exciting field of knowledge known as physical geography. Physical geography is a discipline that is part of a much larger area of understanding called geography. Most individuals define geography as a field of study that deals with maps. This definition is only partially correct. A better definition of geography may be the study of natural and human constructed phenomena relative to a spatial dimension.
World Regional Geography
Rather than present students with a broad,novice-level introduction to geography, emphasizing places and vocabulary terms, this text approaches geography as experts understand the discipline, focusing on connec-tions and an in-depth understanding of core themes.
Physical Geology is a comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more.
Laboratory Manual for Introductory Geology
This textbook is a comprehensive lab manual for the core curriculum Introductory Geosciences classes with both informational content and laboratory exercises. Topics include basic laws and theories in Geology, the Earth's interior and plate tectonics, water and climate change, igneous rocks and volcanoes, and earthquakes.
This book explains how it is even possible to reconstruct the history of the Earth from data available in the present. The emphasis of this book is therefore methodological: rather than explaining what is known, it looks at how it is known.
College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems.
An entertaining and free e-book on physics – the science of motion. Comes in 6 volumes: 1) Fall, Flow and Heat; 2) relativity and Cosmology; 3) Light, Charges, and Brains; 4) the Quantum of Change; 5) Pleasure, Technology,and Stars; 6) The Strand Model-A Speculation on Unification.
This book is for an introductory undergraduate study of calculus-based physics. The material covered in this book frequently is spread out over two or three semesters in an average undergraduate curriculum, if not more. This book will rely heavily on Calculus, including differential and integral calculus, multivariable calculus, and differential equations. Also, some topics of Linear Algebra will be considered and utilized.
Find Even More OER for Your Courses
The above is not a comprehensive list of OER for each discipline. To find even more examples of discipline-specific OER, visit the VCCCD Open Educational Resources (OER) Canvas page.
Have you used one of these resources and want to give feedback? Or have you found another OER that worked great for you? Let us know! Send an email to Kaela Casey.