Professional Encyclopedia
Choose a Traditional Professional Encyclopedia (late high school/college level; not children’s; Encyclopedia Britannica would work as an option.)
Suggested Resources for Traditional Professional Encyclopedias
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full text of hundreds of subject specific reference books, which contain close to three-quarters of a million full text scholarly articles that originally appeared in print reference books. Note: The VC Library owns only some of the reference books included in this database in print form.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Call Number: Gale eBookISBN: 9780787677503Publication Date: 2004-07-01Some reviewers call "Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The original set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Thomson Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, our new editions of "Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.
Magill's Encyclopedia of Science, Plant Life by Call Number: EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America)ISBN: 158765086XPublication Date: 2003
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology Print Edition
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology by Call Number: Ref QR 81 .A5 1993ISBN: 9780683006032Publication Date: 1993-10-09
The Tutoring Center has Bergey’s Manuals and offers tutoring on a drop-in and appointment basis. Please visit them for more details.
The Tutoring Center
Location: First floor of Library and Learning Resource Building (LRC).
Phone: (805) 289-6026
Email: VCtutoring@vcccd.edu
Se Habla Español
Students seeking assistance must be enrolled in the class in which they wish to receive tutoring.
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology Print Edition
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology by Call Number: Ref QR 81 .B46 2001ISBN: 9780387950433Publication Date: 2012-05-09
The Tutoring Center has a full set of the Bergey’s Manuals and offers tutoring on a drop-in and appointment basis. Please visit them for more details.
The Tutoring Center
Location: First floor of Library and Learning Resource Building (LRC).
Phone: (805) 289-6026
Email: VCtutoring@vcccd.edu
Se Habla Español
Students seeking assistance must be enrolled in the class in which they wish to receive tutoring.
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) ONLINE
- Bergey’s This link opens in a new windowBergey's is the most complete and authoritative description of bacterial and archaeal diversity. Now available online for the first time, this edition provides descriptions of the taxonomy, systematics, ecology, physiology and other biological properties of all described prokaryotic taxa.