Popular Press Article
This can be a Magazine or Newspaper, written for the general public. Published within the past 10 years. It should have at least 3 full pages on your species.
How to Search in Databases for Popular Press Articles in Magazines & Newspapers
The term "popular press" refers to material written for the general public. This is opposed to scholarly material written for an academic or research audience, or trade material written for an industry audience. Most popular press materials are newspaper and magazine articles.
If you want popular magazines, use Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Research Library.
The library's EBSCO and ProQuest databases will search both popular and scholarly articles, and they'll also let you specify what kind of article you need.
For example, in ProQuest Research Library:
1. Click the "Advanced search" link at the top of the page.
2. In the search box, type your keywords. Be sure that the "full text" box underneath it is checked.
3. Below the search box, scroll down and choose the "Source type" that you want. Magazines and newspapers are both options -- simply check as many options as you need.
4. Click "search" and browse your results.
Adapted from the Richard G. Trefry Library
Suggested Databases for Popular Press Articles in Newspapers
- EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowThis EBSCO database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, including the Ventura County Star. Also, this database includes almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
- EBSCO Newswires This link opens in a new windowThis EBSCO database provides near real-time access to top worldwide news from various news outlets including Associated Press, CNN Wire, and Business Wire.
- ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowUS Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980 – present), Washington Post (1987 – present), Los Angeles Times (1985 – present), Chicago Tribune (1985 – present), and the Wall Street Journal (1984 – present).