Research Article
This is an article from the primary literature, meaning first time this information has been presented to the world. Use a scientific/medical/technical journal or publication for this. Reviews are off limit for this component. It should be a full text article (not just a summary or abstract). It needs to be published within 5 years. JSTORE counts.
Suggested Databases for Research Articles
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSimilar to ProQuest Research Library, this EBSCO Academic Search Complete database is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary library database that provides access to full-text articles on just about any topic imaginable. ASC contains access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Content goes back as far as 1887.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full-text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full-text from the publication was first published (sometimes going back over 200 years!) up until five years from the present day. For recent journal articles, use ProQuest. JSTOR is a great place for historical research or literary criticism research.
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new windowProQuest Biology Journals coves many different biology topics, including biochemistry, botany, zoology, environmental studies, microbiology, cytology, and biophysics. More than 325 titles are available full text.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Library accesses more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are full text, from 1971 to the present. Topics range from business to psychology, from literature to political science, with articles coming from a mix of popular and scholarly sources, as well as magazines and newspapers.
About Library Databases
Database Search Strategies
Searching in the library databases is a bit different than searching in Google. This video will go over strategies to use to improve your searches in library databases.
OneSearch Articles
Use OneSearch to search across all library resources. Narrow your results to articles by using the options in the "Refine my Results" bar on the left.
In the "Format" section, select "Articles" (this option will give you magazine, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles) or "Newspaper Articles" (this option will give you only newspaper articles). The video below will walk you through this process.